March 2016
Board Briefs
News from the Spring Branch ISD Board of Trustees

Summary of Meeting

Board Briefs March 28, 2016

Board of Trustees Regular Meeting Agenda

Board Agenda >>
Board meeting videos now available online >>

Sights and Sounds Around Spring Branch

Trustees watched a fast-paced video of clips from 2016 Teachers of the Year talking about why they love teaching, and why they love teaching in Spring Branch.
Watch the VIDEO >>


Several members of the Culture Team were on hand at Monday’s Board meeting for #IAMSBISD recognition of their work. From left are Board President Chris Vierra, Marianne Cribbin, LaWanda Coffee, Ro Luecken, Pat Waldrop, Michael Stokebrand, Valerie Muniz, David Hughes, Becky Wuerth, Venu Rao, Karen Wilson, Dr. Muri, Jennifer Blaine and Linda Buchman.
Members of the SBISD Communications Department were recognized by Dr. Muri. From left are Board President Chris Vierra, Linda Buchman, Rusty Graham, Steve Brunsman, Abby Walker, Becky Wuerth, Pat Waldrop and Dr. Muri. Not pictured are Melissa Wiland, Paul Bryant, Kristen Cain, Betty Head and Amy Byrom.

The #IAMSBISD campaign recognizes members of the Spring Branch ISD community who represent the best qualities and demonstrate the core values of SBISD. Medallions are awarded by Superintendent Dr. Scott Muri and senior staff and recipients receive instant recognition through social media and are invited to be recognized at that month’s regular board meeting.

Community Relations Officer Linda Buchman recognized the #CollectiveGreatness of the SBISD Culture Team, which developed and implemented the district’s core values.  The Culture Team’s work was recently recognized with the Platinum Certificate of Merit by the Texas School Public Relations Association for last year’s Culture Jam. This follows Golden Achievement Award recognition by the National School Public Relations Association for this work as well.

Dr. Muri separately recognized the SBISD communications team, which was integral to the work of the Culture Team and which recently brought home other major awards from the Texas School Public Relations Association.

Adoption of Policy

Trustees unanimously approved on third and final reading updated local policies regarding Board members and elections, and revenues and investments.
BBB (LOCAL) Board Members, Elections >>
CDA (LOCAL) Other Revenues, Investments >>

Local Innovation Plan

Trustees unanimously approved the authorization of the Board President to notify the TEA Commissioner of the Board’s intent to vote on the adoption of a proposed Local Innovation Plan, which is also the district’s Strategic Plan (see below). The Local Innovation Plan is a required element of becoming a District of Innovation.

Consent Agenda

Trustees unanimously approved the Consent Agenda. Consent Agenda items are considered as a whole, unless an item is removed by a Trustee for separate consideration.
Consent Agenda >>

Strategic Plan

Trustees engaged Dr. Muri in a candid conversation about the district’s proposed Strategic Plan, posted online last week for 30 days of public inspection and comment. The Strategic Plan (link below), developed over five months by 90-member committee comprising community members and district staff, serves as the Local Innovation Plan that’s required as a step toward becoming a District of Innovation.
Presentation >>
Strategic Plan >>

Budget Update

Associate Superintendent of Finance Karen Wilson gave Trustees an update on the 2017 budget, which covers the 2016-17 school year and which is being developed by district staff. The district is using a modified zero-based budget process this year, looking for efficiencies by requiring departments to justify spending requests. Trustees will see a draft 2017 budget at the May workshop meeting, prior to two public hearings on the budget. A budget must be approved by June 30 for the 2017 fiscal year.

This publication is distributed by the SBISD Communications Office.
If you have questions or input, please contact Steve Brunsman, Spring Branch ISD Communications Director.
Visit the SBISD Board of Trustees website